Lock-down, A boon?

I don’t even know from where to begin,
Should i begin with the constant frustration of not being able to go out?
Or, Should I begin with the fear of going out and be the prey of this so called pandemic?
Will it ever be normal again? Should I just live with this doubt?
Urgh, even the thought is barbaric,

Why do I have to stay locked because of this stupid Virus?
Why can’t I hang out with my friends, go to work,
Sitting Idle in my room, looking at the front wall,
An epiphany began to rise,
‘This was a blessing in Disguise’

Within a course of 7 Days, i realize,
we’re provided with 24Hrs in a Day,
that’s like 12Hrs twice,
following false tracks, unimportant things,
now that all seems like, maze for a mice,

This is the time to re-invent self,
time to let go of things unimportant to you,
time to find yourself inside, who you are,
Look inside yourself, and you find something new,

Sure, it was sweet to achieve the daily goals in my office,
Sure, it was amazing to have a few drinks with my friends,
I always thought, that’s life, that’s how it works,
But now I know, that’s not how it ends,

I don’t miss going to work anymore,
I don’t miss the drinks, or the fun,
I’ve started to love this peace within me,
nothing to trouble me, no problems, none,

I’ve been re-acquainted with my family,
The ones i left behind for the world outside,
Its amazing how less we do, for the time given to us,
and the more important things, we always slide,

I was always out, even when I’m supposed to be home,
Always looking for what i WANT, not what i NEED,
like the 65″ Plasma hanging in front of me,
On which i used to play Assassin’s Creed,

I don’t miss being out now, I don’t even want to anymore,
I don’t miss anything, I’ve got it all here, except one,
My sweetheart, whom i love to the very core,

I’ve been away from her, it’s been 30 days now,
that’s the only thing i can curse this virus for,
not letting me meet her, to see her,
just keep looking at her picture in my drawer,

That’s the only thing, I’d wanna go out for now,
Since the rest were not important anyway,
and that’s gonna be my first task,
as soon as this lockdown ends in May,

Leave a comment